On the Hirshabelle Election Outcome and Implementation of the National Electoral Process

19 Nov 2020

On the Hirshabelle Election Outcome and Implementation of the National Electoral Process

Mogadishu – Somalia’s international partners (see list below) have closely followed the establishment of the second Hirshabelle State regional assembly, the recent presidential election in the State and the ongoing preparations for the Somali federal elections. 

We look forward to working with the new Hirshabelle President Ali Gudlawe in advancing reconciliation, bringing together all Hirshabelle clans and communities, combatting violent extremism and addressing Hirshabelle’s statebuilding and socio-economic priorities.

Regarding the 2020/21 federal vote, we stress the importance of preserving the spirit of consensus which led to agreements during the Federal and Federal Member States leaders’ consultations in Dhusamareb and Mogadishu. We encourage sustained dialogue within the framework of the National Consultative Council and with other key stakeholders to keep the electoral process on track and inclusive.

We particularly emphasize that achieving broad consensus on the establishment of the electoral management committees, which should include 30 per cent representation of women, and on resolving differences on how the federal vote will be conducted in the Gedo region and for the seats allocated to the Somaliland communities, will be critical to the transparency, legitimacy, feasibility and timely implementation of the electoral process. We call on FGS and FMS leaders, the electoral management bodies, clan elders and civil society to take all necessary steps to ensure that at least 30 per cent of the MPs and Senators from each community are women and that the elections will be held in a timely manner.

We will continue to engage all Somali stakeholders to advocate transparent implementation of a Somali-led, credible and peaceful federal vote based on consensus and the commitments reached by the National Consultative Council.


*African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM), Canada, Denmark, Djibouti, Ethiopia, European Union, Finland, Germany, Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Netherlands, Norway, Qatar, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, and the United Nations.